

Press Release

Prime Minister formalizes SDG rollout and implementation

The Government of Nepal has formed two High Level Committees and nine Thematic Working Groups to rollout and implement the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030. The apex body for guiding the pursuit of SDGs will be the National Steering Committee, chaired by the Right Honourable Prime Minister and Chairman of the National Planning Commission (NPC), comprising of members as follows: the Honourable Vice Chairman of the National Planning Commission, the Honourable Minister of Finance, the Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Chief Secretary of the Government. The Secretary of the National Planning Commission Secretariat will serve as the Member Secretary.

The second mechanism is the Implementation Coordination and Monitoring Committee, chaired by the Honourable Vice Chairman of the National Planning Commission with the Honourable Member in charge of macro-economic issues as the deputy coordinator. The Secretaries of the Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Chairmen/Presidents of Nepal Chamber of Commerce, Federation of Nepalese Chamber of Commerce and Industries and Confederation of Nepalese Industries will serve as members and the Joint Secretary of the Economic Management Division of NPC as Member Secretary. These Committees are also mandated to include representatives of civil society and other stakeholders as '*Invited Members*'. This is the first time that the leaders of the private sector have been formally included in high-level official committees responsible for the implementation of globally-agreed Millennium Development or the Sustainable Development Goals since 2000.



The Economic Management Division of the National Planning Commission Secretariat will act as the SDG Secretariat headed by the Joint Secretary of the Division.

The two committees above, formed by the Prime Minister, will be supported by nine Thematic Working Groups to be chaired by NPC Members as follows: Dr. Swarnim Wagle (Economic Development), Dr. Chandra Kanta Paudel (Industrial Development), Dr. Sunil Babu Shrestha (Urban Development), Dr. Geeta Bhakta Joshi (Social Development), Dr. Kripa Sindhu Prasad (Employment Management), Dr. Prabhu Budhathoki (Agriculture, Climate and Environment), Prof. Hirendra Man Pradhan (Physical Infrastructure), Dr. Arbind Kumar Mishra (Energy Development) and Secretary of the National Planning Commission Secretariat Mr. Chandra Kumar Ghimire (Peace, Justice and Inclusive Institutions). These thematic groups will comprise of members from concerned ministries, private sector, civil society and senior officials of the National Planning Commission Secretariat.

Detailed terms of reference of the committees and working groups include tasks related to the initiation and consolidation of policies and programs, resource mobilization, coordination with all stakeholders, periodic reporting, monitoring and evaluation.

Further details can be obtained from lsghimire@nepal.gov.np and www.npc.gov.np.

23 March 2017